Why I Love November

Halloween is over, along with all its excitement. And there’s still a month until December when there’s snow (if you’re lucky) and holiday fun. So what are we supposed to do with November? Well, I’ve got you covered. Here are some reasons I love this month, let’s enjoy it while it lasts!

The Food

imageMaybe this is just my family, but once November comes around is when we really start eating fall foods. I love warm, yummy soups. Squash galore. And of course the spices. Nutmeg and cinnamon smell and taste delicious in almost anything. And the best part about these foods is that you can eat them when they’re warm as you sit in your house when it is rainy and cold outside.

Sweaters

imageOctober can be a pretty warm month, depending on the year. But November is reliably cool, and wet. And that means you can count on always being able to wear a warm, fuzzy, cute sweater! Hooray! And scarves,a and coats and boots and hats. All the fun autumn clothes can come out in November, and you don’t have to worry about planning an outfit then waking up to discover that it’s going to be too hot out to snuggle up in your sweater.

Football in the Rain

imageWell to be honest, I only love this some of the time. Other times it can be downright miserable. But November usually means a lot of football and a lot of conditioning and a lot of mud. Plus it’s dark out really early, so we get to play on the lit fields, which for some reason is really exhilarating.

Fireplace Fires

imageWhen it’s dark and stormy outside I love to snuggle up with a book by the fireplace (are you noticing a pattern here?). You can read for hours as the rain hits the windows and the gray sky outside doesn’t change. A very reasonable way to spend an afternoon, I think.

Leaves

This is the time of year when the leaves are gold and orange and red. Almost no other sight is so bold and beautiful.

I think I’ve covered the basics, but did I forget anything? What are your favorite things about November? Let me know how you spend this month by leaving a comment below!

4 thoughts on “Why I Love November

  1. Btd says:

    All fantastic benefits of November. And I’m so glad you mentioned the FOOD– I dream if leaf-shaped pasties filled with squash and kale. Of meat pies and cider and snacking on toasted pumpkin seeds out if the oven. Mmmmm, fall food.

    Like

  2. jennifer Doherty says:

    other favorites: apple pie, crunching through the fallen leaves, the anticipation of the holidays and snow, seeing your breath

    Like

Leave a comment