Trust That Bubbly Feeling In Your Gut

I have always loved theatre. Not really in the theatre geek way where I go to a show every week and read a bunch of plays and know all the lingo. In fact, I usually forget how much I love it until the end of a show, when I’m filled with… excitement, I guess you’d call it. I am just always so happy and in awe and inspired after I see a play or musical.

Me after I see a play.

Me after I see a play.

I exit the theatre singing, smiling, dancing and talking about how amazing that was, much to the annoyance of the people I went with, who get tired of me obsessing. I don’t know why it has this effect on me, but after every play I can ever remember seeing, I’ve been bubbly afterward (except for Westside Story, but that’s because it was a tragedy and gang violence makes me want to throw up).

This past Friday, I went to my high school production of “The Musical Comedy Murders of the 1940s” which was about as easy to understand as it is to remember the name. Despite only understanding what had been going on at the end of the show (oh, wait– that’s the point of mysteries, isn’t it?), I was, as usual, dancing around with a wonderfully stupid grin on my face when it finished. I have to give a shout-out to my enormously talented peers and the great drama department at my school.

Anyway, after this play, I thought, I should do theatre!

This was not a unique or spectacular thought in any way, because I want to be in a play after every production I see. But I always remind myself that I play football and spend too much time on homework, and so there would never be enough time. And after a day or two, my excitement dies down and I quickly forget my fleeting ambition.

But why should that stop me? I asked myself on Friday night. Who says I can’t be in a play, go to soccer practice all the time AND do all my homework at once? Well, that’s the thing, I did! I thought there was no way I could do it all, I was the one who talked myself out each time. But it struck me that after every play I always want to do theatre. That can’t be a coincidence, can it?

I don’t want to keep talking myself out of it and then one day when I’m thirty go see a play regret that I never bothered trying to be in one. I have to try this just to know. Maybe I’ll hate it and that bubbly feeling I get after plays is just an appreciation for all the work and fun and dedication that went into making it. Or maybe I get that bubbly feeling because I love theatre and need to be a part of it.

I don’t know, but I know that I have to find out. So I am about to email the director at my school and ask him some specifics about being in a play, because even though I am completely ignoring a reality check, I do need to know about time. And what do I need to do to get ready to try out for the play in Spring? Did I mention earlier that the only acting experience I have was a ten-line part in the fifth grade play?

This isn't me, but I'm pretty sure my play looked about this professional.

This isn’t me, but I’m pretty sure my play looked about this professional.

I wanted to share my excitement for my adventure. But I also want to encourage you to get out there and try something new! You don’t need experience to learn (at least in my case, I sure hope not). All you need is the motivation and the guts to get out there and give it a shot. You may fall on your butt or you may find a new passion. Either way, at least you tried.

As Mark Twain said, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Oh, so I’d also like to ask anyone who has any experience in acting or theatre for their help! Any tips you could pass along to a wanna-be actor? Leave them in the comments section below, please!

Oh no! I just checked my school website and the times it has for rehearsals would conflict with football! Let’s hope that they aren’t right!

Leave a Reply

