A Fishy Salad

Hello! I was just working on a longer post, when I suddenly realized that I’ve missed Food or Thought! I’ve just barely been out of school for a week and already I don’t know what day it is.

Last Thursday I took advantage of not having practice to make dinner. My mom had picked up some halibut that morning, so I had to find something to do with that. I looked up halibut recipes online, and I decided on this one from Real Simple:

Avocado and Chickpea Salad with Halibut

Serves 4 

Hands-On Time: 15 minutes; Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

Four 4-ounce pieces halibut

kosher salt and black pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

8 cups mixed greens

One 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed

One avocado, sliced

One half small red onion, thinly sliced

Directions

Season the fish with ½ teaspoon salt and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Place in a large skillet with enough water to reach halfway up the sides of the fish.

Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cook the fish, covered, until opaque throughout, 6 to 8 minutes.*

Transfer the fish to a plate and refrigerate until cool, about 15 minutes. Using a fork, flake the fish into large pieces.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the oil, lemon juice, mustard, cilantro, ½ teaspoon salt, and ⅛ teaspoon pepper.

Toss the dressing with the mixed greens, chickpeas, avocado, and onion. Divide among plates and top with the fish.

 

Don’t worry, the wine is my parents’. 🙂

 My dinner was a success! Even my picky-eater sister liked it, and she is normally pretty skeptical of fish. It was a light and summery meal, but it still filled you up with the fish and bean protein. We paired it with a nice baguette which I heated on the grill.

 *I mostly followed the recipe. But instead of cooking the halibut in a pan, I grilled it: first rub some oil on the fish, then season it with the salt and pepper as explained in the recipe. Put it skin-down on a piece of foil and grill for about 10 minutes total, either flipping the halibut halfway through or just folding the foil over to creat a little oven around it. After grilling it, I didn’t put the fish in the fridge, but just put it on the salad warm. I also didn’t add cilantro to my salad, since my mom doesn’t like it.

     

Leave a comment