Summer 2015 Bucket List

Today is my first day of summer vacation! Woooooo! You have no idea how long I’ve been waiting to say that!

To kick it off, I thought I’d share the summer to-do list that’s been accumulating in one of my notebooks. In no particular order, here’s what I want to do in the next couple of months:

Make Ice Cream: I will argue with any burger lover that ice cream is the cow’s greatest gift to man. I’ve made a few types before, including chocolate, honey lavender (my favorite flavor) and two gallons of mint chip. I’ve no idea what flavor I’ll make this year, but hopefully I’ll be able to make a few batches!

Contact Some Chemistry People: this is sort of something I should do more than something I want to do, but it makes the list anyway. I think that when I’m older I want to be a green chemist, which means I’d try to find more environmentally friendly and safe ways to do and make stuff.  However, I don’t know a whole lot about it, so I want to find out more.

Cook and Bake: I’m actually a pretty competent baker, but I really want to get better at cooking– well, actually first I’d like to learn how to cook, then I can work on getting better. I love eating yummy, healthy food and I would love to be able to make it too.

Sadly: I have summer homework for three of my classes next year… So I’ll be doing that. For AP Language Arts, though, one of the required readings is a book called On Writing Well by William Zinsser, which is about writing all sorts of nonfiction, so I’m actually pretty excited about reading that one, maybe it’ll help with my blogging! It’s also the summer before junior year for me, which means (bum bum buuuuum) SATs and ACTs. Which means studying.

Read: yesterday I got home from my last day of school and, since I could do nothing with my friends since they all have finals today, sat in the sun in my backyard and read for something like three hours straight. I think the last time I lost myself in a book was last summer. This summer I’ve got to get my share of reading for pleasure in, because next school year I don’t plan on having a lot of free time. I’ll do a post on my reading list sometime in the near future.

Stand Up Paddle board: There’s something unbelievably fun and peaceful about standing on the water. My friend has never been paddle boarding before, soi told her this summer we’d have to go.

Volunteer at the Seattle Aquarium: this is another of those have-tos. But I’m really excited for it. In the spring I applied to be a Youth Ocean Advocate for the aquarium, and so this summer I’ll be talking to little kids a LOT about fish.
Go to Gasworks: this park is a picturesque green field overlooking Lake Union. It’d be a really fun place to have a picnic. This summer I want to try to explore my city a little more than I have in the past, because, as I’m starting to appreciate, it’s a great city to live in.

Instrument: I don’t know if it will be the new ukulele my dad just got in the mail, or the flute that’s been sitting under my bed untouched for the past two years… But I want to get back into music!

Tutor and Babysit: these two go together because this is how I will make money to fund my other bucket items. I tutor a girl in math and anything else she needs help on, and I’ll be continiuing that over the summer, and then I’ll be taking care of. Some chillin’s too, which, if you are a responsible teenager who likes kids, is a fun and very well-paying job. Plus I get to choose my own hours!

Women’s World Cup: Currently I’m sitting in the car on my way to Vancouver, Canada for the USA v Nigeria game! I’m soooo pumped, it’s going to be amazing. I’ve been to two games so far, Ecuador v Cameroon and Japan v Switzerland, and we have tickets for a round of sixteen game, quarter finals and the final! So everyone watch, you might see me on tv 😉

And, last but most certainly not least…

Blog! I’ve been a total slacker this spring in my blogging, and this summer I’m looking forward to writing a lot more! So you’ll hear from me soon!

What are your summer plans? Anything I should add to my list? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Summer 2015 Bucket List

  1. To Live With All My Might says:

    I’m going into my junior year too! And I’d love to find out what’s on your list of books to read – I’m looking for inspiration as well. I hope you have a fantastic summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma14 says:

      Thanks Molly! Yeah, the joke with my friends is that junior year is going to be death (kind of a joke… Ok, not really a joke). Hope my book list will inspire you! I’ll only post part of it… It’s gotten to like 30 titles now. 😉 have a great summer! Thanks for your comment!
      Emma

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rishi Raj says:

    I have been practicing yoga from 1 year.(from last year’s summer vacation) and i think this was the wisest decisions of my life so far.I think you should add yoga to in your”what to do list”.For a never ending source of energy and happiness.

    Like

  3. Emma14 says:

    Thanks for the suggestion! I tried going to a yoga class about 2 years ago, and I really liked it, but I got too busy and stopped going after a while. However, I did really enjoy it, and it would be great for relaxation AND flexibility. I think I’ll try it again! Thanks again for commenting!
    Emma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

