Bites of Joy

Have you ever bitten into a little ball of delicious happiness?

If not, you’d better run over to Trader Joe’s right now, and ask for a box of Chocolate Coconut Almonds. A few weeks ago my mom brought a little plastic container of these chocolate balls home, and since then we’ve always had a stock in our cabinet.

If you shop at Trader Joe’s, you’ll know these little morsels are dangerous the second you see them. The tip off is that they come in one of those little square plastic containers (the ones about four inches wide and 3 inches tall). These containers are also used to house peanut butter cups, licorice, cookies and all other manner of addictive treats.

I thought taking a picture of them in the shell would add to the tropical feel of the picture. I don't think it did though.

I thought taking a picture of them in the shell would add to the tropical feel of the picture. I don’t think it did though.

The Chocolate Coconut Almonds are exactly what they sound like: An almond, covered in a layer of coconut, dipped in chocolate. So yummy! They are sweet and crunchy and almondy, and sort of taste like summer. They are the gourmet, bite-sized cousin of Almond Joys, and I have to say I like this side of the family better.

A crosscut.

A crosscut.

However, since the box is inadequate in it’s labeling, I will just give you a little extra information:

WARNING! Trader Joe’s Chocolate Coconut Almonds are dangerous and highly addictive. After consuming just one you may find yourself unable to stop yourself from consuming more. So far, any effects of eating too many TJCCAs have not been discovered, however it is advisable to not consume a whole box on one’s own (invite at least one friend to share), and is recommended that they are stored out of sight, or else one may find oneself very distracted when within viewing distance of them and may also find oneself getting up at irregular intervals to go get “just one more”.

As you can see, my family has gone for "just one more" a lot.

As you can see, my family and I have gone for “just one more” a lot.

There. You’ve been warned. If you want to get them (and I highly recommend you do, if you or anyone you know likes chocolate, almonds or coconut, or any combination of the three), you will have to face the consequences of having these little bites in your house!

That’s all for Food or Thought for this week, check back next Monday for more! Also, I know this is not being posted on a Monday (at least in my time zone), but that’s because I have something extra special for tomorrow! And, as always, let me know what you think (about anything, really) in the comments below. Have you encountered a different dangerous treat I should try?

Leave a Reply

