On Dating (no actually– like writing the date down)

I date all my notebooks in case somebody in the future finds them. Is that weird? (That’s where you come in and say, “Of course it is, Emma, but we love you anyway.”) Well, let me explain.

Here’s the thought process: What if one day hundreds of years from now people find my notebook of quotes or my math notebook and it becomes some famous discovery? Because it was somehow randomly one of the only things preserved from our time period? And the historians of the future use it to find out how people lived in the 2000s. (Like, “Look! Here we can see that the owner was studying precalculus at this time, which we deduce to be a normal class taken by students at the time, showing the values placed on education during the early 21st century.” or “And we can see by this motivation quote that sports stars were high-up members of society, and that some had an influence on popular culture.”) So, I want to give the historians an easy time by dating my entries; hopefully then they could make accurate assumptions about our society today. (For example: “Oh, wow! Way back in 2015, people still wrote stuff down, with actual pen and paper, instead of using the brain-implanted computers which store facts and figures and information for us today! How archaic they were, even in the 2000s!”)

Do you follow my logic? Makes a whole lot of sense to me! I mean, the chance of someone finding my notebook hundreds of years in the future is minuscule, and the chance that they actually care about it is microscopic, but every once in a while, when I date a paper, this is what goes through my head. Maybe I’ve just been studying for my history class way too much in the past month. Do normal people have weird thoughts like this, too? Let me know in the comments!

PS: It’s likely that in the next few days I’ll be changing the look of this blog (I know, I know, you’re probably thinking, Again, really?). So don’t be surprised if you click a link to a post and don’t end up at THIS exact blog!

6 thoughts on “On Dating (no actually– like writing the date down)

  1. D.I. Ozier says:

    I’m very particular about dating my notes, as well, but not because I think that I might be famous or important one day. I like looking over things that I wrote in the past and having an exact record of the work I did, the thoughts I had, etc., etc., and then knowing how these ideas have evolved over time.

    Like

    • Emma14 says:

      I think that’s the more usual way to think of it. And certainly, I do it mostly for that! This just sort of popped in my head one day as I wrote the date on a paper, and it’s always been at the back of my head ever since. I’ve probably read too many “primary sources” in history this year. : )
      Thanks for reading!
      Emma

      Like

  2. Nicole says:

    For my job, I was trained to keep a phone log. I’ve kept every notebook which started about three years into my professional career. I think I’m at 34 notebooks. I lost (left) one on a plane about ten years ago. So, I understand.

    Also, when I was growing up and we were restoring or building houses, my dad would have us write letters/notes and wrap them in tin foil and then drop them inside the walls. This habit came from our joy of finding old journals and letters in the houses we were restoring.

    So, keep dating those notebooks. They will be fun for people in the future.

    Like

    • Emma14 says:

      That’s such a cool idea, the letters in the walls! I always think of how cool it would be to find that sort of thing, and then feel connected to someone who was in the same place you are, but years earlier.
      Thanks for checking out my blog!
      Emma

      Like

  3. Emma says:

    I used to do this all the time!!! I even dug a hole in my yard and put a box full of notebooks in it so that in the future I could become famous from what I wrote. I’m glad I’m not the only one!!!! I love this, you gained a new follower 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

