To San Juan

Hello again everyone!

Been awhile, hasn’t it? Well, in the two months since I fell off the face of the World Wide Web, I’ve been slightly busy. Hence the unannounced hiatus. Not too much exciting to write about though. Lots of homework, lots of football. Not that I haven’t come up with ideas (I have, and I’ve been dying to write them out), I’ve just been dry of time. 

Alright, anyway, I’m back, and I have some stuff to share. This week is (finally) spring break, and my grandparents are in town. That’s not the story though. Some of our family friends have a house on San Juan Island, which is about 3 hours away from Seattle, via car and ferry. And they are letting us stay in it for a few days!

 

Here’s what you see as soon as you step in the front door. Beautiful.

  

And here’s the view from the porch.

The house is beautiful. The town (Friday Harbor) is adorable— and in the two blocks I’ve been on has three ice cream shops! And the island is so northwest. It reminds me totally of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which, by the way, is a great book. Right now it’s raining on and off over the water and sunny. Forests cover the island, as far as I can tell, and are broken up by grasslands and beaches. Our friends’ house is right on the water, but there will be no swimming for us because the ocean is freezing

We’ve seen lots of wildlife. Viewed: deer, eagles, hawks, bunnies and a seal. oh and lots of birds. I can hear all of you non-city dwellers laughing at me.

Today we went to South Beach for a walk that turned out to be pretty quick because of the strong cold winds and the dark clouds looming off in the near distance. Despite this, I think I took about 70 photos at the beach, some of which are below. The ocean- or is it still the Puget Sound?- is beautiful. The beach is covered with drift wood (or drift logs, more like) and rocks. As I was walking along with the wind at my back and my eyes glued to the ground in search of treasures, I found possibly the beach treasure of my life. 

My mom has always been into sea glass, and my dad likes searching too. So from a young age my sister and I have been trained to be on the lookout at any beach we step on. Any other sea glass collector will know that brown and green sea glass is pretty common. Beyond that, it’s pretty uncommon to find colored glass. But today as I was walking with my head down, I saw, lying on top of all the gray and white rocks, a blue piece of sea glass, about the size of the bottom of a bottle. Blue! Ever since I found out it existed, I’ve been on the hunt for blue; I’ve found a few pieces, but none as big or blue as this one.

  

After we got too cold on the beach, we got back in the car and rode into town, which I will tell you more about later since we just stopped quickly. But all I need to know to know its a good town is that it has multiple restaurants, a grocery store, a book store, some “cute little shops” as my mom would say, and, most importantly, multiple places to get ice cream.

 

    

           

That’s it for tonight. I’m sure I’ll have more photos and stories to share tomorrow or the next day. It feels so good to be blogging again!

3 thoughts on “To San Juan

  1. Mimi says:

    Good to see you writing again, Em! I always enjoy the things you have to share, your 16 year old insight. Your San Juan island beach (north) reminds me of the northern most side of Aruba, cluttered with driftwood, shells, but mostly debris thrown off ships somewhere way off (flip flops, sneakers, toothpaste tubes, toothbrushes, lots of plastic, bottles, etc.) Do you have big, big rocks you can climb on too? Maybe you can come back here some day and compare islands. All from me now. Have a wonderful time with “la Famiglia”! ❤ and hugs, Mimi

    Like

  2. Emma14 says:

    Thank you Mimi! It is sort of like Aruba, but a bit more chilly! 🙂 there are big rocks to climb on, but surprisingly there isn’t a lot of debris on the beaches, which is nice to see. And I certainly plan on going back at some point!

    ❤️ Emma

    Like

  3. Aunt Beth says:

    Thank you for sharing this vivid description (along with real life photos)of your wonderful mini vacation. Enjoy every bit of it. And also, I am so glad to see you blogging again. Love you Miss Emma!

    Like

Leave a Reply

