#Take Back What’s Yours Campaign (I hope I’m not too late!)

Thoughts today!

A new blogging friend of mine, Molly (To Live With All My Might), tagged me in a post of hers to participate in the #Take Back What’s Yours Campaign. As far as I understand, the campaign is basically setting a New Year’s resolution (this is why I say I might be too late– its February!) except for that you do it for more than a year, and maybe forever. It can be something physical, but I think the point is that it is more something immaterial. Here’s what you have to do:

1. Write a blog post talking about this campaign, the message it contains and why you are taking part

2. Decide what Take Back What’s Yours – New Year Resolution you are going to set yourself

3. Tag 10 bloggers to take part

4. Let Chloe know if you’re taking part by using the hashtag on Twitter #TakeBackWhatsYours – Also tag either @ChloesConcept or @TBWYCampaign so she can retweet!

5. If you can – include a photo of yourself with a handmade poster (doesn’t have to be artistic!) with the words:

“TAKE BACK WHAT’S YOURS –
MAKE YOUR NEW YEARS RESOLUTION TO TAKE BACK WHAT BELONGS TO YOU. #TakeBackWhatsYours
In 2015, I’m taking back: *i.e., “my confidence”
I was tagged to take part about ten days ago, and I’ve been horribly slow to respond, but here it is:
Starting NOW I am taking back my free time. And time in general, really.
This ties really well into something I’ve wanted to blog about for a while now, and that is the complete lack of enough time ever. Does anyone else feel this way? (That’s a completely rhetorical question by the way, because I’m pretty sure everyone feels this way).
Do you feel like you have so much stuff to do that you’re drowning in it?
Here’s some– well, more than some– homework. On top of over six hours of school five days a week. And also you have to go to hour and a half soccer practices everyday, and drive a half an hour each way to get there and back. What’s that? You say that’s a bit too much? But you haven’t even put in the time you need to eat! Oh and sleep! You might be able to handle that, you say? Great! add in a couple soccer games per weekend, and travel time, and family time. And you need to have a social life! Go make friends! And while we are on the topic, start thinking about what you want to do with the rest of your life, and research colleges. Great! Now how about hobbies? What do you mean you don’t have time for hobbies!? I mean look at this list, you need some time to relax.
That’s pretty much my life.
Not that I’m complaining. Too much. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Although a 30 hour day might be nice. I realize that I am so lucky to get the education I’m getting, and the opportunities I’m getting, and that I do a lot of this stuff by choice.
I just get so caught up in it all that I forget to take time off, or more that I don’t have any time to take time off.
So that is why I’m taking back my free time. I am going to be more time efficient, or organized, and do whatever it takes to get that little bit of fun time back, when I don’t have to think to hard about anything or worry about it’s effect on my overall life. Everyone needs some time to themselves. Those hours from when I was younger, and would sit all afternoon reading a book I chose to read, or do arts and crafts for a day, are the hours I’m taking back. Starting now.
The ten blogs I am tagging to take part:
  1. The Color Green
  2. The Positive Project
  3. Storytime with John
  4. Byclarkellis
  5. Heather Colmore
  6. Insidethelifeofmoi
  7. Uniquely Erin
  8. Fill Your Own Glass
  9. Rachel Being Chatty
  10. Life By Natalie
3 thoughts on “#Take Back What’s Yours Campaign (I hope I’m not too late!)

  1. To Live With All My Might says:

    It’s never too late! 😉 I like the way you described a student athlete – I can definitely sympathize with that (“what do you mean, you don’t play a sport, have a job, and participate in three clubs? don’t you want to be successful and go to a good university?”) Enjoyed reading your post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

