Food (f)or Thought: Official Introduction

Welcome, welcome, to my first annual weekly Food or Thought post!

In the past, my blog has had no structure whatsoever. But in attempt to make my blogging (and your reading) experience more organized, I am going to have days each week that I post on a specific topic. Previously I had not wanted to do this because I didn’t want to restrict myself to only talking about certain topics, but I think I have found the solution in only loosely categorizing these posts. For example: Food or Thought!

Ok, ok, Emma. That’s great, but what is Food or Thought? Other than an obvious attempt to play on words?

Aha! Glad you asked! Although food and thoughts seem like very different categories to some, I will promise you that for me, very often these are one and the same. Just ask my mom. Or my sister. Or my dad. Or my friends. I am a FOOD LOVER. Around two in the afternoon, I’ll be asking my mom what’s for dinner. I am blessed to have a mother who is also a  fantastic cook and baker. I love good food, and I eat a lot of it. Which could cause some weight gain issues when I stop playing soccer, but I don’t plan on ever stopping, so that’s ok.

I eat breakfast almost as soon as I get up in the morning. Yesterday I had cereal. About an hour after I ate, I walked into the kitchen just in time to see my mom putting blueberries on her cereal. To which I half shouted, “Uuuuuuuhhhh! I forgot about the blueberries!!” then put my arm on the counter and rested my forehead in my elbow, and probably made some whimpering noises.

My mom said that there would be enough left for tomorrow, but that didn’t make me feel any better, because I had planned on having them this morning and having something else for breakfast tomorrow. (See what I mean about food for thought? Do you know anyone else who plans their breakfasts?) Then my mom, trying to suppress a laugh, asked “Are you going to let this ruin your whole day?” In response I nodded, with my head still on my arm, and  said “uh-hu”. Then I smiled and also tried to suppress a laugh because I was being ridiculous.

We went to sit in the living room, and I sat in a chair staring out the window in frustrated silence. After a while, my mom said, while laughing, “I’m sorry, I don’t mean to laugh, it’s just, I’ve never met a single person who gets so upset over food.” I laughed at that too, but in that way you do when you’re trying to be very angry and not laugh at anything since you are not happy. But I couldn’t not laugh at that, because it was very true, and I was a little dramatic. I got over it quickly after that. And don’t worry: I had blueberries in my cereal today.

Anyway, story tangent aside, food does dominate a fair amount of my thoughts. Hence Food or Thought. On Mondays, I will post either on food– a recipe, favorite dish, restaurant, etc– OR on my thoughts, which, if you follow and read my blog, you know contain quite a range of ideas. OR, now that I think about it, the post may very likely be some sort of combination of food and thought.

Check in each Monday to satisfy your appetite!

One thought on “Food (f)or Thought: Official Introduction

Leave a Reply

