Goodbye Summer

So, there I wasn’t. At the homecoming dance in the school lunchroom (everyone else calls it the Commons, but it’s really a lunchroom), dancing with some guy in the dark to the tune of some rap song playing so loud you have to shout to be heard.

Dances aren’t really my thing. Instead I spent my night at the beach with my friends. Well, one friend and her brother and his friends and all our parents. We had a cookout with clams— no oysters— and brats and all sorts of “snacks foods” as my mom calls them. It was perfect.

The beach!

The beach!

And it was so fall. You know when the afternoons are crisp but sunny and the skies are clear? I love those days. Especially when you can be outside and enjoy them. And that’s what we did on the beach, in our jeans and sweatshirts. No more shorts and tshirts.

Once it started to get dark, one of my friend’s brother’s friends pulled out his ukulele and sang songs for us all. We joined in when we could, but it wasn’t ever necessary because he was really good. We all laughed and stayed warm by the tiny little portable grill. The ukulele player would look up the music for song requests and play them even if he hadn’t ever before.

Us, except around a portable grill, with a ukulele instead of a guitar, and more spread out. So basically, not us at all.

Us, except we were around a portable grill, with a ukulele instead of a guitar, and more spread out. So basically, not us at all.

A very fun way to spend my Saturday night. Much better, I think, than going to the dance. So, with that night in mind, I officially say “Goodbye summer”, even though that was probably supposed to be said about a month ago. And of course I say with much enthusiasm, “Welcome fall!” Can’t wait for the cozy nights and yummy foods and beautiful leaves!

Hooray for fall!

Hooray for fall!

One thought on “Goodbye Summer

Leave a Reply

